Topic: Under able to access web interfaces with hostname

==== Required information ====
- iRedMail version: iRedMail-0.8.4
- Store mail accounts in which backend (LDAP/MySQL/PGSQL): MySQL
- Linux/BSD distribution name and version: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
- Related log if you're reporting an issue: Apache error.log
====
I am a newbie to iRedMail as you can probably guess. I initially did a clean install on CentOS where I got the same problem but I went back to Ubuntu 12.04 because I much more familiar with it.

The problem is if I try very to access any of the web interfaces using my domain name it fails. However if I put the IP address in then I'm able to access it. For example if I type in the URL https://merciadragon.net/mail/ Firefox tells me "Unable to connect". However if I type in http://192.168.2.160/mail/ then a connection is made.

Interesting if I just type in merciadragon.net then in the address bar it will change to https://merciadragon.net/mail/  before it gives the unable to connect message.

I have attempted to turn off the firewall  but this makes no difference. Apart from that is beyond me. The rest of the installation seems to be OK but I do need to get this Apache things sorted out. In the past when I've just needed to install Apache I have never had any problem with it so we would seem there is something in the iRedMail installation that I have missed.

I hope someone can help me because it's the most straightforward mail server I have come across I have been trying for a couple weeks to get a mail server running.

The domain name I have given is my actual domain name the server is running and all relevant ports are open, if it helps someone to do an online test.

Robert…

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: Under able to access web interfaces with hostname

Have you registered your domain name correctly on your DNS?