Topic: Migrating mail

==== Required information ====
- iRedMail version: 0.8.7
- Store mail accounts in which backend (LDAP/MySQL/PGSQL): LDAP
- Linux/BSD distribution name and version: Debian Wheezy
- Related log if you're reporting an issue:
====
I am trying to migrate mail from a mac os x 10.6.8 (snow leopard) server to my new iredmail server. Does anyone have any suggestions or recommendations on how to do this. I have read up on imapsync but it does not appear to keep the flag info for read and unread messages. I would like to transfer the mail preserving the read and unread flags on messages. Any ideas or help on this would be great.

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: Migrating mail

I have no experience of Mac OS X mail server, but imapsync does sync read/unread status. Please check the arguments/options you used for imapsync. Here's what i used during migrating mailboxes for a customer:

imapsync \                                                                 
        --useheader 'Message-Id' --useheader 'Message-ID' --useheader 'Received' \
        --subscribe \                                                           
        --authmech1 login --authmech2 login \                                   
        --host1 [server1] --user1 "[username1]" --password1 "[password1]" \
        --host2 [server2] --user2 "[username2]" --password2 "[password2]" --tls2

Depends on your server, you may not need the same options.