Topic: Thanks and some suggestions

I've been using iRedMail open source version for a few years, and I've recently migrated from my home Xen box to an EC2 instance. I run on FreeBSD (11.2-RELEASE at the moment). I have a few suggestions for how iRedMail builds a mail server. Let me start by saying the work is awesome. I probably could do this myself, but thanks to you I don't have to!

Some universal suggestions:

1. SOGo uses memcached. Memcached, by default, listens on a TCP port and speaks TCP. I recommend switching it to use a unix socket instead of TCP. There's a blog post that suggests you get much better performance. It doesn't have to do the whole TCP handshake. Plus, memcached doesn't even open the TCP socket, so you don't have any worry of security issues. This requires a few easy changes:

1. In sogo.conf change the SOGoMemcachedHost line to this:
      SOGoMemcachedHost = "/var/run/memcached/memcached.sock";

2. Launch memcached with the right command line. In my case I put the following in my /etc/rc.conf file:
      memcached_flags="-s /var/run/memcached/memcached.sock -a 0666"

3. It would be good to make sure that location in the filesystem exists (/var/run/memcached) and has appropriate permissions. In my case memcached runs as user nobody, but sogod runs as user sogo. So I have it set to permissions 0666.

2. Consider adding pflogsumm?  It's in the FreeBSD packages/ports tree. It sends an email (usually weekly) with statistics, and interesting error messages from /var/log/maillog.

For pflogsumm, I have the following script installed as /usr/local/etc/periodic/weekly/600-pflogsumm:

#!/bin/sh

(/bin/cat /var/log/maillog ; /usr/bin/bzcat /var/log/maillog.*bz2) | 
        /usr/local/bin/pflogsumm --detail 8 | 
        /usr/bin/mailx -s "PostFix Stats `date +'%Y-%m-%d %H:%M'`" postmaster@EXAMPLE.COM

Some FreeBSD-specific suggestions: