1 (edited by heron 2019-07-16 00:31:38)

Topic: intermittent problem where SMTP fails IMAP succeeds

==== REQUIRED BASIC INFO OF YOUR IREDMAIL SERVER ====
- iRedMail version (check /etc/iredmail-release): 0.9.7 MYSQL edition.
- Deployed with iRedMail Easy or the downloadable installer? Command line install on AWS Ec2, so must have been downloadable
- Linux/BSD distribution name and version: Ubuntu 16.04 xenial
- Store mail accounts in which backend (LDAP/MySQL/PGSQL): MySQL
- Web server (Apache or Nginx): Apache
- Manage mail accounts with iRedAdmin-Pro? Yes, iRedAdmin-Pro v2.8.0 (MySQL)
- [IMPORTANT] Related original log or error message is required if you're experiencing an issue. "Could not connect to this SMTP server"
====

INTRODUCTION:

I have been using iRedMail with iRedAdmin Pro since about March 2018. It is a simple mail server with one main user (me) and a few occasional users.

There would be pockets of time where sometimes it would not work to send and recieve mail. The mail accounts were all set up through the Apple Mail application on desktop for each user, not using the webmail service. It was a slight inconvenience for the team, but we would just wait some time to resend the email and it would go through without a problem.

After encountering this issue one too many times, I set out to get to the root of the problem and resolve it once and for all. After enough investigation, I found that using sudo iptables -n -L would return to me everything related to fail2ban, and that f2b was being very very sensitive and banning the ip addresses of some of our users for a certain amount of time.