1 (edited by maraven2001 2021-04-27 06:42:41)

Topic: Help With Installation

Hi,

I am new to iRedmail, and want to have my own mail server.  I have been reading a bit before jumping into the installation, and am well aware that there are a few things I don't really know how to set up.

I am behind a small home server (ClearOS), checked that port 25 is open in my ISP.  But I don't have a fixed IP address.  As far as I have managed to understand, I can't have a mail server without a fixed IP, but I do know that ClearOS gives me a DynDNS by default.

If my ClearOS (main server) is xxxxx.yyyy, can I use mail.xxxxx.yyyy as de FQDN where I will install iRedmail ?? I do have another server Domain available just in case, but would rather use this one if at all possible.

So the question is, based on my setup, what do I need to do to set up an email server ?

I have to change my MX records as well, do I also need a mail forwarding service, say like MailJet ??   I have a MailJet account already as well, just in case.

I would very much appreciate some help in putting everything together.

I can install iRedmail, no worries, I have the FQDN for the server (if at all possible I would use one based on my current server name, but I have another one just in case), and I also have a couple mail domains I want to set up.

Fortunately I can definitely go through most of the install, but will need help with the DNS records, the IP address to use or how to use the ClearOS DynDNS, and how to setup a mail forwarding service if needed (MailJet).

If someone can help me sort through these bits I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks

Manolo

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: Help With Installation

maraven2001 wrote:

If my ClearOS (main server) is xxxxx.yyyy, can I use mail.xxxxx.yyyy as de FQDN where I will install iRedmail ??

Yes.