1 (edited by blonde 2021-03-14 21:24:28)

Topic: I want End to End encrypted, everything on server run as encrypted?

==== REQUIRED BASIC INFO OF YOUR IREDMAIL SERVER ====
- iRedMail version (check /etc/iredmail-release): 1.3.2 (MARIADB edition)
- Deployed with iRedMail Easy or the downloadable installer? Downloadable installer
- Linux/BSD distribution name and version: CentOS-7-x64-minimal +headless
- Store mail accounts in which backend (LDAP/MySQL/PGSQL): MariaDB
- Web server (Apache or Nginx): Nginx
- Manage mail accounts with iRedAdmin-Pro? No
- [IMPORTANT] Related original log or error message is required if you're experiencing an issue.
====

Hiya,

I'm a Journalist and looking for privacy and journalist protection, thus I want my own mail server. Also, I'm hoping to be able to make this end-to-end encrypted, is there any solution for this, please? How to store all the contacts, emails, and attachments, and titles of emails in encrypted form on the server. Thus if the server gets hacked, nothing will be accessible to the hacker. I want the highest possible encryption implementation and my threat model is making this three-letter agency proof, please?

Tnx and best of luck

----

Spider Email Archiver: On-Premises, lightweight email archiving software developed by iRedMail team. Supports Amazon S3 compatible storage and custom branding.

Re: I want End to End encrypted, everything on server run as encrypted?

Dovecot (the IMAP server) has plugin to encrypt stored messages.
FYI: https://doc.dovecot.org/configuration_m … pt_plugin/

ZhangHuangbin wrote:

Dovecot (the IMAP server) has plugin to encrypt stored messages.
FYI: https://doc.dovecot.org/configuration_m … pt_plugin/

Hiya @ZhangHuangbin

Thanks. May please confirm if this only encrypts all the email protocols of IMAP, POP3, SMTP and HTTP or just emails that send and received by IMAP can be encrypted by this? Shall I close/disable all the other protocols to achieve full stored email encryption, please?